Coope Boyes & Simpson

Sort By:  
Twenty Four Seven (NMCD20)
  • Twenty-Four Seven
  • Present Friends
  • Privatise
  • Man of Double Deed
  • Uttoxeter Souling Song
  • January Lullaby
  • Sounding Rafters
  • Raise Your Voices
  • Heaven's Waiting Room
  • The Sea Must Have an Ending
  • Cold Coasts of Iceland
  • Three Ships
  • In the Name of God
  • Waiting By the Road

Coope Boyes and Simpson

Private Peaceful - The Concert (NMCD24)

Michael Morpurgo and Coope, Boyes and Simpson
Recorded live at Ilkley Literature Festival.

  • Bandaghem
  • Five Past Ten
  • Hares on the Mountains
  • So You're Stuck with Me
  • Little Man You've Had a Busy Day
  • Universal
  • Y'aint a Coward, are ya?
  • England to Her Sons
  • The Deeper You Dig, the Longer You Live
  • Standing in Line
  • Good Old General Haig /The Sergeant Major's Having a Time/Hanging on the Old Barbed Wire
  • Twenty-five Past Three
  • Down Upon the Dugout Floor
  • Five to Five
  • Only Remembered
  • One Minute to Six
  • Oranges and Lemons
  • Bye Charlie
  • Lay Me Low
  • Mendinghem / Dozinghem
In Flanders Fields (NMCD42)


Peace has been a recurring theme of the powerful and distinctive singing and songwriting of the English acappella trio Barry Coope, Jim Boyes and Lester Simpson. It was the strength of their writing about the events of the First War that first led Piet Chielens, now Co-ordinator of the In Flanders Fields Museum in Ieper, to commission them to perform and compose music for the Flemish arts organisation, Peace Concerts Passendale in 1993. They eventually took part in five different Peace Concert productions in Belgium and England, performing on former battlefields like Hill 60, among the memorials at Tyne Cot and at the request of the town of Passendale for their eightieth anniversary commemoration of the battle of Passchendaele. These experiences then inspired their words and music production, In Flanders Field, which combines their own writing with the biting humour of the Tommies’ wartime observations and music.

In Flanders Fields brings together newly written songs, existing and first time recordings of songs from Peace Concerts Passendale and songs and music of the “War to end all Wars”.

A Garland of Carols (NMCD13)
  • Shepherds Arise
  • Down in Yon Forest
  • The Coventry Carol
  • As I Sat On a Sunny Bank
  • While Shepherds Watched [Lyngham]
  • Nowell and Nowell
  • In Bethlehem City
  • Christmas is Now Drawing Near at Hand
  • The Carnal and the Crane
  • Here We Come A-Wassailing
  • The Three Harks
  • The Moon Shines Bright
  • Boars Head Carol
  • The Dunstan Lullaby
  • While Shepherds Watched [Pentonville]
Per Page      1 - 5 of 5
  • 1